Calls for 2015 Award Submission

Deadline for Nominations: Friday, January 15, 2016

The Working-Class Studies Association (WCSA) invites nominations (including self-nominations) for awards covering the year of 2015. Award categories are:

  • Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing: Published books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and other genres.
  • C.L.R. James Award for Published Books for Academic or General Audiences
  • Russo & Linkon Award for Published Article or Essay for Academic or General Audiences
  • Studs Terkel Award for Media and Journalism: Single published articles or series, broadcast media, multimedia, and film.
  • Constance Coiner Award for Best Dissertation: Completed dissertations.

In all categories, we invite nominations of excellent work that provides insightful and engaging depictions of working-class life, culture, and movements; addresses issues related to the working class; and highlights the voices, experiences, and perspectives of working-class people.

To be eligible, works must have been published (in the case of books or articles) or completed (in the case of films and dissertations) between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2015.

To nominate a work for consideration, please send three hard copies (submit books and dissertations on paper, other materials may be submitted on paper or in electronic form) with a cover letter, identifying the category in which you are nominating the work and a brief explanation of why you think the work deserves recognition. Nominations are due by January 15, 2016. Submit nominations to:

Dr. Christie Launius

Director, Women’s and Gender Studies

Sage Hall 3457

UW Oshkosh

Oshkosh, WI  54901

For more information and electronic submissions, contact Christie Launius, WCSA Past-President, at

Winners will be announced at the 2016 How Class Works conference at SUNY Stony Brook, June 9-11, 2016. Winners will receive free conference registration and a plaque.

Leave a Reply