Call for Annual Awards

The Working-Class Studies Association calls for nominations for our annual awards. Please consider nominating an entry, and please circulate the attached call.

Our award categories are:

  • Studs Terkel Award: for single published articles or series, broadcast media, multimedia, and film in media and journalism
  • Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing: for published books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and other genres
  • C.L.R. James Award: for Published Books for Academic or General Audiences
  • Jake Ryan and Charles Sackrey Award: for books by writer(s) of working-class origins that speak to issues of the working-class academic experience
  • Russo & Linkon Award: for published article or essay for academic or general audiences
  • Constance Coiner Award: for completed dissertations
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

In all categories, we invite nominations of excellent work that provides insightful and engaging depictions of working-class life, culture, and movements; addresses issues related to the working class; and highlights the voices, experiences, and perspectives of working-class people.

To be eligible, works must have been published (in the case of books or articles) or completed (in the case of films and dissertations) between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2020.

Details of the awards and past winners can be found here.

To nominate a work for consideration, please send three hard copies with a cover letter, identifying the category in which the work is being nominated and a brief explanation of why it deserves recognition, to the address below. The nominating party, whether author or publisher–has the responsibility to make sure three copies with a cover letter are submitted. NOTE: Articles and dissertations should be submitted in electronic form to <>.

For the Lifetime Achievement Award, please submit a detailed letter of nomination (or self-nomination) to <>. The letter should document the range of the nominees’ contributions to the field of Working-Class Studies and the advancement of working-class causes, whether in or beyond higher education. 

Nominations are due no later than January 31, 2021.

Submit nominations to:

Dr. Scott Henkel

Wyoming Institute for Humanities Research

Cooper House

Department 3353

University of Wyoming

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071

Leave a Reply